Accueil > Mozilla > Bringing back the favicon and the colored lock in the address bar in Firefox

Bringing back the favicon and the colored lock in the address bar in Firefox

If you are like me and really dislike the removal of the favicon and the blue/green background for SSL connections from the address bar in Firefox 14 and newer, I recommend you install these two Firefox addons: Favicon Restorer and Site Identity Button Colors.

And you probably remember that Firefox 6 and Firefox 7 removed the http:// protocol from the URL and highlighted the domain name of the URL? If you don’t like them, you can revert these changes by setting browser.urlbar.formatting.enabled = false and browser.urlbar.trimURLs = false.

Maybe I’m the only one to think this way, but I really think improvements made to the address bar are going the wrong way.

Catégories:Mozilla
  1. 1 septembre 2012 à 3:41  

    ‘I really think improvements made to the address bar are going the wrong way.’

    Yup

  2. 1 septembre 2012 à 3:59  

    You’re not the only one. These are the exact changes and almost the same extensions I already have. The difference was I have the "Site Favicon in URLbar" extension instead (my link)

  3. 1 septembre 2012 à 4:13  

    I agree. In fact, there’s one change you didn’t mention which I also think was wrong: Removing the left border on the stop/reload/go button.

    I actually wrote a Userscript to bring it back along with a detailed analysis of why it was wrong to remove it:

    http://userstyles.org/styles/56465/firefox-9-restore-left-border-on-reload-button

  4. 3 septembre 2012 à 7:43  

    I couldn’t live with the protocol so I made sure I didn’t remove it. I had not noticed the favicon nor the color change so I guess I’m good with it.

  5. Anonymous
    6 septembre 2012 à 4:03  

    Personally, I really like the change to remove the favicon, because it removes a major spoofing possibility, and puts the favicon in exactly one place rather than two.

  6. Robert
    7 septembre 2012 à 1:27  

    Strong agreement with OP.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.