Accueil > Bugzilla > Good bye Windows 2000

Good bye Windows 2000

… and thank you! Today, Windows 2000 reached End Of Life (EOL). This was a great OS, and I used it till a few months ago when I decided to upgrade to Windows 7, skipping both Windows XP and Vista.

Catégories:Bugzilla
  1. Josh
    13 juillet 2010 à 10:44  

    What!? People still use Windows 2000!? Well at least it’s finally gone for good now, in terms of support for it.

  2. Simon
    14 juillet 2010 à 12:16  

    What’s was so great about it? I mean, it wasn’t a *bad* OS, but I can’t say I was disappointed to see XP replace it. And since clients clinging to W2K have been a major reason for me to keep supporting IE6, it’s death is no time too soon…

  3. Frédéric Buclin
    15 juillet 2010 à 9:38  

    Windows 2000 was a great improvement over Windows 95 and 98. It was very stable (no more Blue Screen of Death) thanks to its NT kernel (bye bye DOS) and wasn’t bogus as Windows Me was. When Windows XP was released in 2001, I saw nothing which worths an upgrade from Windows 2000, especially because I had the feeling that XP required much more ressources from the graphic card. Why I skipped Windows Vista is obvious, and so I naturally upgraded to Windows 7 directly.

    Note that my main OS is Linux since 2001, as I first needed it at work, and then to develop Bugzilla. But my dual boot PC was running Linux – Windows 2000 (now Windows is in a VM since I bought my new PC last year).

  1. 2 août 2010 à 4:00  

Laisser un commentaire

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.