Accueil > Bugzilla, Mozilla > Do you think more icons in the Bugzilla UI is useful and/or prettier?

Do you think more icons in the Bugzilla UI is useful and/or prettier?

I added a few icons to one of my local Bugzilla installations a few weeks ago to make it look prettier. Some people think this is useless and brings no value, but I think it makes some pages look better than pure text pages. Below can you see how it looks like with some icons stolen from the Oxygen theme used in KDE4. Don’t be surprised if some icons look unrelated (for instance the one I used for "Bug Status Workflow"); this is simply because I couldn’t find a good one and I picked a random one as a proof of concept. :)

Bugzilla with icons

From top-left to bottom-right: userprefs.cgi, admin.cgi, and report.cgi

I think such icons makes sense at least for some people for whom english is not their mother-language (like me). When you are unsure what a label means, the icon can help you here. I have to add some IDs to some HTML elements to be able to add icons as above, but my patch for bug 547496 is ready for checkin and so one can now build a skin with icons in it if he wants to (Bugzilla 3.7.1 or newer required, unless this patch is also accepted for 3.6rc1).

To be clear: these icons won’t be committed into the Bugzilla source code. So don’t worry, you are not going to see icons everywhere in the next release. I will probably create the skin and attach it somewhere else, so that you are free to download it if you like it (from what I understood on the legal page of the Oxygen icon theme website, their icons are freely available via the Creative Common license).

What do you think about this idea? Do you have better free icons in mind to use in Bugzilla? :)

Catégories:Bugzilla, Mozilla
  1. 21 février 2010 à 5:12   | #1

    Icons you used are mostly Mandriva icons, not Oxygen icons :> .

  2. Frédéric Buclin
    21 février 2010 à 5:37   | #2

    Yes, but Mandriva uses the Oxygen theme, isn’t it? :)

  3. 21 février 2010 à 6:45   | #3

    Cool..Looks like "Bugzilla for humans" else its only geeks system.

  4. 21 février 2010 à 10:01   | #4

    > Yes, but Mandriva uses the Oxygen theme, isn’t it?

    Only for KDE, GNOME uses other icons plus Mandriva custom icons for their tools.

    Fields, keywords, parameters, name and passwords, reports, default preferences, general preferences, sanity check (characteristic computer icon for Mandriva), classifications, products, users, whining and most probably search – these are Mandriva custom icons for *Drakes and their other tools.

    So refer not to the Oxygen license, but rather to Mandriva ones.

    I’m telling it just for you to be sure about legal cases.

  5. 22 février 2010 à 6:25   | #6

    Well, my mother language is not English, but French; yet I think I’m going to stick to the no-nonsense "Classic" Bugzilla skin, with no funny stuff and (almost) only text. Maybe I’m too geeky for my sanity, or maybe at 59 I’m already "vieux jeu" (which is French, and somewhat more pejorative than the English approximative equivalent "old-fashioned").

  6. 22 février 2010 à 5:31   | #7

    I like it. It makes me feel Bugzilla more "readable".

  7. gervmarkham
    25 février 2010 à 1:16   | #8

    I think icons would be fine – as long as they were used consistently (i.e. the paint tray meant "preferences" everywhere, and the icon used for a thing on this page was also used on the page for editing that thing) and as long as the picture was well connected with the thing it’s denoting. For example, the jigsaw puzzle piece means "addons" in Firefox (and isn’t very good there either IMO). Similarly, there’s only a very loose connection between a silver head and Bug Status Workflow.

    Gerv

    • Frédéric Buclin
      25 février 2010 à 7:48   | #9

      No kidding? You probably missed what I wrote: "Don’t be surprised if some icons look unrelated (for instance the one I used for « Bug Status Workflow »); this is simply because I couldn’t find a good one and I picked a random one as a proof of concept."

  1. 22 février 2010 à 3:07   | #1

Laisser un commentaire

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.