Accueil > Uncategorized > Upgrading to Mandriva Linux 2008.0 is a pain!

Upgrading to Mandriva Linux 2008.0 is a pain!

So I finally decided to upgrade my Mandriva Linux 2007.1 installation to the new 2008.0 release. I expected the upgrade to be quick and painless, but it was the opposite. Not only the upgrade failed for some unknown reason, but before it started to fail, the "remaining time" field was displaying "07:03". I first thought "7 minutes and 3 seconds", but after an hour or so, I realized it meant "7 hours and 3 minutes". Arghhh!!! So I went back watching TV (fortunately, there were two episodes of NCIS at that time). While giving a quick look at my PC, I realized a message was displayed informing me it couldn’t install cryptsetup. WTF??? I first clicked "try again", but the same error came back. Of course, clicking "pass" didn’t help as many other RPMs couldn’t be installed, probably due to the missing RPM. So I rebooted the system, tried again, but now selecting as few packages as possible, to have at least a minimal installation to work with. Again unsuccessful, but now due to another missing RPM.

So I decided to do a fresh install instead of a 7 hours-long non-working upgrade. Selecting KDE as my default environment, it started installing RPMs again, now with a "remaining time" field of 1 hour only. *Much* better! Unfortunately, it was now complaining that it couldn’t install glibc (despite it installed cryptsetup successfully this time). Again another try, but now selecting as few RPMs as possible (avoiding KDE as it failed in my previous attempt). Same result: a package couldn’t be installed.

Fortunately, I have a dual boot and I started my Windows 2000 partition to download some additional ISO images. OpenSUSE 10.3, Fedora 8 Test 3, and Mandriva Linux 2008.0 mini (instead of the DVD ISO which I burnt for nothing as all my attempts above failed). I first wanted to test them in VirtualBox to decide which one to use to reinstall Linux, but they all failed at some point. Maybe Linux doesn’t like VirtualBox, or my system is so slow trying to run both Windows 2000 and Linux at the same time that it was in fact very slow, much slower than what I could accept. So I gave Mandriva another (and ultimate) chance and burnt the mini CD ISO. The UI let me choose between KDE, GNOME and IceWM. I selected KDE, but after the installation succeeded (finally!), I realized I was seeing IceWM. The reason was that KDE is not available on the mini CD ISO. So why letting me select it??

Well, I could at least configure rpmdrake to download missing packages from the web. But as usual, it first tries to get missing RPMs from your installation disk before downloading them, which is fine. But it was unable to find it! rpmdrake was indeed looking at /media/cdrom2, but this path was invalid. So I edited the path to look at /media/dvd but it was still ignoring my change, still asking for /media/cdrom2. So I edited /etc/fstab itself, and rpmdrake was now happy and could find /media/dvd.

I’m using Linux for 8 years now, among which 4-5 years using Mandrake/Mandriva. I always had problems installing a fresh new copy, and all upgrades failed as far as I can remember. I hoped this time the upgrade would work correctly. Sadness…

Now I understand why end-users still use Windows: it just works! Maybe Windows has many cons, but I never had any problem installing it. And I have never been so happy to have Windows 2000 still installed on my PC. I hesitated a few weeks ago to use the whole HD for Linux only, and keep Windows 2000 in a virtual box. But after this irritating and frustrating experience, I decided I would never do so. Windows 2000 will remain on my PC for a long time, despite I boot my system on Linux 99.9% of the time.

I could also tell you how Mandriva 2008.0 decided to ignore my SoundBlaster 4.1 sound card, falling back to the one installed on my motherboard, how it ate my menu bar, how it slowed down my web experience by waiting 10-15 seconds before starting loading any web page (the fix is to add "install ipv6 /bin/true" to /etc/modprobe.conf, so why not doing it by default?), etc… but I think you got the point.

Catégories:Uncategorized
  1. Max
    3 novembre 2007 à 3:08  

    Wow, all those things were fixed in Fedora long, long ago.

  2. Toe
    3 novembre 2007 à 8:35  

    Just one suggestion for your list of distros to try, have you ever checked out PCLOS? It began life once upon a time as a LiveCD based on Mandrake, but it’s evolved quite a bit since then. It’s getting pretty these days, having knocked Ubuntu out of the top spot on DistroWatch’s chart.

    http://www.pclinuxos.com/

  3. ta
    3 novembre 2007 à 9:07  

    on allthose things never where a problem on debian-based systems

  4. Andrew
    3 novembre 2007 à 10:40  

    Next time try PCLinuxOS. It ‘just worked’ for me.

  5. LCard
    3 novembre 2007 à 11:19  

    I have fresh installed the Mandriva 2008.0 PowerPack DVD on two machines: (1) a Core 2 Duo E6600/Intel DP965LT/NVIDIA 7950/Audigy 4/SATA-2 HD; and (2) an Asus W5F notebook. I had no problems whatsoever during installation, and both computers work flawlessly. I have been using Mandriva as my main desktop for 4 years now, at home and in a biomedical research laboratory. It is stable, secure, has everything I need, and has been improving a lot. Also, I always prefer to do a fresh install.

    Check the integrity of your media and eventual compatibility issues of your hardware.

  6. 4 novembre 2007 à 3:08  

    I never had any luck version-upgrading Mandr[ake|iva] when I used to use it; something would always go horribly wrong and I’d end up having to do a clean install. I’ve had much more success with Ubuntu version upgrades; my Xorg gets hosed every time, but that’s easy enough to fix from the command line, and then it’s off to the races.

  7. Mike
    4 novembre 2007 à 6:05  

    Don’t let this experience generalise Linux for you, other distros like Ubuntu or Fedora always seem to "just work" moreso than Windows most of the time!

  8. Preetam
    21 mars 2008 à 7:42  

    hello i downlaoded LIMUX MANDRIVA latest verion. and stored it on my hard disk.. can u plz suggest how to install. i want to keep dual boot.. now i am having XP.

  9. Areth
    22 avril 2008 à 6:31  

    Preetam: You need to burn the ISO to a disk (Dvd or Cd, depending on which ISO you downloaded) then reboot your computer with the disk in. The thing to watch out for is that you have to burn it AS an ISO, (the option is burn copy or something like that in Sonic RecordNow…I haven’t used windows in some time)
    Mandriva for me has always been easy to install, update, upgrade, everything. I’ve tried other distros and will be staying with Mandriva as my recommendation to my clients. I personally use 3 flavors, including Mandriva. The most common problem I’ve seen with Mandravia is TBCK.

  10. Ben
    24 juin 2008 à 2:02  

    I’m quite new to Linux ( I started my foray using Webmin on a Mandriva Powerpack 2006 server to create mail accounts as helpdesk assistant in November 2005 then as my OS on my Comaq nx6110 laptop since May 2007).

    In December 2007, I wasn’t able to successfully upgrade from Mandriva one 2007.1 to Mandriva one 2008.0, messing up my install and starting from scratch. (More due to my lack of knowledge of HOW TO, I bet rather than the fault of the Software/OS)

    I now would like to upgrade my laptop from One 2008.0 to Powerpack Spring 2008.1

    Can anyone please give the step by step "HOW TO" and also include warnings of incompatibilities and potential pitfalls?

    Thanks

  11. Boris
    11 août 2008 à 8:54  

    Pretty stupid… Sorry, did you tried to test your media? Probably no. I am using Mandriva for about 7-8 years. I have had problems only by the upgrade from 9 to 10.1…
    You are writing about problems with 2 soundcards (only 1 was setupped) and about the problem with IPv6… hm… I have on 1 of my home PCs 4 soundcards, each is detected and configured by mandriva (also the soundblaster). I don´t have IPv6, my pages are loading in 1 second. If you have IPv6 (which is still not common), you need to configure it manually. If the IPv6 will be common, Mandriva will enable it by default.
    Your post about the issues with Mandriva seems to me pretty stupid, because you have had probably DVD with errors (cracked Nero on Windows? :-) ).
    Anyway, stay on fedora if you like testing, but for me and for many ¨lazy¨ users is Mandriva the right choise.

  12. 14 août 2008 à 3:31  

    It is impossible upgrade fine to Mandriva 2008 from anterior version. The correct method to save time and have not pain is:
    1) Format your HDD
    2) Install Mandriva 2008
    3) Install all apps you want

    I did this and my Mandriva 2008 is running just fine…

  13. lpsolit
    14 août 2008 à 10:11  

    Yeah, formatting is usually the easiest and safest way to upgrade, unfortunately. Note that Windows is not really better when talking about upgrades. I had similar problems when upgrading from Windows 98 to Windows 2000 a few years ago, IIRC.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.